Foundation Nietzsche House in Sils Maria

President: Dr. Urs Saxer LL.M., Attorney at law
Vice-president/ management Nietzsche House: Prof. Dr. Hubert Thüring, Professor Modern German Literature
Actuary: Prof. Dr. Barbara Naumann, Professor Germanic Languages and Literature
Assessor: Dr. Mirella Carbone, Literary and Art Scholar

The Foundation’s purpose is to maintain, operate and promote the Nietzsche House in Sils Maria as a memorial, as a place for research and artistic work and as a guesthouse.

Link to the deed of foundation

On 15 February 2024, our Foundation Board member Prof. Annemarie Pieper passed away at the age of 83. She was a member of the Board of Trustees for more than 20 years. She was a strong personality with great expertise and we will remember her for her versatility, originality and open-mindedness (

Members at large:

Barbara Aeschbacher, Lawyer, President of the municipality Sils

Dr. Dr. Timon Georg Boehm, Philosopher and physicist

Prof. Dr. Wolfram Groddeck, Professor Emeritus Modern German Literature

Joachim Jung, Literary and Philosophy Scholar, secondary-school Teacher

Edelweiss Hotel seat: Madeleine Petermann, Director Edelweiss Hotel

Julia Rosenthal, Antiquarian bookseller

Prof. Dr. Katia Saporiti, Professor Philosophy

Prof. Dr. Werner Stegmaier, Professor Emeritus Philosophy

Prof. Dr. Dieter Thomä, Professor Philosophy

PD Dr. Peter Villwock, Literary Scholar, Curator Nietzsche House

Prof. Dr. Claus Zittel, Professor Literary Studies

Honorary members:

Prof. Dr. Peter André Bloch,
Professor Emeritus Germanic Languages and Literature

Prof. Dr. Iso Camartin, Professor Emeritus Rhaeto-Romanic Literature and Culture

Felix Dietrich, ambassador & cultural events Hotel Waldhaus Sils